| Leadership Awards Presented at the 2017 Leadership Summit
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-18069,single-format-standard,do-etfw,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode-theme-ver-7.6.2,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.5.2,vc_responsive

24 Feb Leadership Awards Presented at the 2017 Leadership Summit

Congratulations to All Award Recipients

Each year, the Electronic Security Association recognizes outstanding volunteers and chapters that continue to push the industry forward.

ESA President, Angela White, presented the 2017 Leadership Awards during the General Session on Feb. 13.

“It is important to acknowledge the efforts of these individuals to ensure the industry thrives,” White said.

Jamie Vos, president of the Electronic Security Association of Washington, was awarded Chapter President of the Year. Vos was selected for his work ethic and dedication to advancing the industry.

He brings a fresh new perspective to ESA with his initiatives on education and recruitment. Vos actively contributes to ESA at the national level as well; by participating in the Mentorship Program, serving on the Board of Directors and on the finance committee.

The Kentucky Electronic Security Association walked away with two awards: Chapter of the Year and Chapter Newsletter of the Year. In the past few years, the members of the KYESA have worked tirelessly to rebuild the chapter after the passing of a former president. In 2016 alone, they were able to retain 100 percent of their membership. KYESA has aligned with ESA on many programs and services and they advocate on behalf of the industry at the state Capitol.

Their newsletter actively promotes ESA news and upcoming events, delivers relevant and informative content, and highlights ESA member benefits and NTS courses.

Gary Schefler, Executive Director of the New Mexico Chapter of ESA was announced as the Executive Director of the Year. Gary is a retired industry veteran who volunteered to take on his role as Executive Director and he has provided stability to his chapter.

“He does everything in his power to build and sustain our chapter,” said NMESA President, Steve Berniklau. Gary exercised all of his resources to halt a threat that the Albuquerque Police Department was going to stop responding to alarm calls. “Gary represents the best of what the industry has to offer,” said SIAC Director, Ronald Walters.

The award given in honor of Paul F. Baran, Instructor of the Year, was given to Tommy Lewis. Tommy is the owner and operator of Lewis Clock and Electronic Systems. He is also a Senior NTS instructor.

Tommy is certified to teach all NTS courses. He obtained his Level I in 1999 and has continued to take NTS courses and continuing education throughout his career. As a business owner, he recognizes the need for safety so he makes sure to stay current with the latest codes, standards and technology. Tommy goes above and beyond to accommodate NTS requests for training. He travels throughout Texas and Louisiana to teach – often times driving hours on end.

This year, the Website of the Year award was presented to the Wisconsin Electronic Security Association. The WIESA website is visually appealing and user-friendly with easy-to-use tabs, helping visitors navigate to training, membership, resources, etc.

Their website highlights WIESA events, NTS courses and ESA events.

Congratulations to all of the 2017 Leadership Award Recipients!

No Comments

Post A Comment